! This content is copyright protected !
logo

Category : Nature

30 Dec 2022

Vietnam – Chasing the Vooc

At the end of the year, one more adventure was necessary and, as so often, I ended up in Vietnam again. On the one hand I wanted to visit my colorful friends, the red-shanked douc monkeys and on the other hand I wanted to go hunting for the other two associated species for the first time. Vietnam is currently still struggling with the aftermath of Covid, there are still quite a few tourists on the road, which is of course always a good thing for me.

02 Jun 2022

Costa Rica II

After traveling the south of Costa Rica with my camera two years ago, this year the north had to be explored. One thing is for sure, it was certainly not my last stay in this paradise for nature photographers. Like last time, I made few but longer stops at places I had previously selected. From my point of view, short stops of only two or three days cannot adequately search an area for the species present.

30 Oct 2021

Svalbard - A little exploration

After a long break, I did a short visit to the Svalbard archipelago to see what opportunities there are for me in terms of photographing polar bears. Even the journey via Frankfurt - Oslo - Tromso - Longyearbyen turned out to be quite funny, sometimes the gas station attendant was missing to refuel the plane, sometimes a bus driver to bring the passengers to the plane, but at least a little variety was provided. The "strange" stopover in Tromso, where even Norwegians need to get off, show their passport and then get back on the same plane, and the somewhat strange baggage handling, which is different between the way there and back (although exactly the same), make the journey something special.

18 Mar 2021

Protected: The Sony A9 In the “Lab”

This is a protected post…

15 Mar 2021

The hunt for the flying gem

It can also be found in many streams and rivers in North Rhine-Westphalia, but it rarely wants to be in front of the camera, which is why photos of it are coveted by nature photographers. For me, too, he is a long-time 'opponent' of whom I was able to take photos from time to time, but never really good ones up close. That's why, thanks to Corona, I've dealt with him extensively in the last few weeks. For me, as always, the “project” starts with the search

17 Feb 2020

Canada Yukon

** Update ** Covid has unfortunately made it impossible to explore the Yukon, but we will definitely do that at a later date ...

17 Jan 2020

Costa Rica

A popular travel destination among nature photographers is Costa Rica, the unique nature offers many motifs and so I went there for the first time. With the rental car I drove to the southwest in the province of Puntarenas, primarily with the aim of exploring the jungle around the Corcovado National Park. I deliberately left out the park itself, because it is a tourist attraction so mostly well attended, which I find besides the fact that you cannot explore the park alone without a guide

29 Nov 2019
22 Jul 2019

Mountain lions in Canada

One of the few cats that is still missing in my collection is the mountain lion or puma (Puma concolor). The shy cat can only be found on the American continent. Because there is nowhere else such beautiful nature and besides the cat so many other wild animals worth seeing, I made my first trip to Canada. Of course, I didn't assume that I would be able to get the cat in front of the camera the first time around, rather […]

17 Feb 2019

Goodbye Canon

After 30 years, I'm saying goodbye to Canon and making a system change to Sony. Unfortunately, Canon reacted too late to the future - and it's mirrorless. I would have really liked to have stayed, but what Canon currently has to offer in the mirrorless segment unfortunately does not meet my requirements and I doubt that this will change in the foreseeable future. In addition, it is completely unclear what will come in the field of super telephoto lenses for the RF mount, no [...]

30 Dec 2018

Vietnam – The Douc

After unusually heavy rains in November and December, the Da Nang region was hit by massive floods - which unfortunately again cost human lifes. Son Tra Mountain, home of the red-shanked douc, was not spared either. Due to landslides, the only access road was partially blocked with boulders and so it was another little adventure to visit the beautiful monkeys a third time this year.

13 Oct 2018

The Mekong Delta

The Mekong Delta in Vietnam offers a breathtaking backdrop, especially in the rainy season. It rained surprisingly little this October, possibly due to climate change. The rain showers are usually short and heavy and the temperatures are usually high. In recent years, various dams have been built to protect the people and the fields, which are supposed to make life easier for the people there. You can reach the region in about 6 hours by bus from Ho Chi Minh City, by the way, the buses are super comfortable with reclining seats and of course with free wifi.

15 May 2017
Artikel in der Siegener-Zeitung über die mehrmonatige Schneeleoparden-Tour des Naturfotografen Jörg Manderbach - Press article about sucessfull snow leopard tour at the Himalayas by German nature photographer Joerg Manderbach

A first little report in the local press

On May 13th a first report appeared in the “Siegener-Zeitung” about my snow leopard tour in the Himalayas.  

06 May 2017

Face to face with the King of the Himalayas

It was a great experience. After many years and countless attempts, I managed to photograph a wild snow leopard up close for the first time. It was the longest and most exhausting journey I have taken to photograph the rare and elusive cat. At the start of the tour in December 2016, the conditions on site were anything but favorable, as there was only sporadic snow. So I did the one-week acclimatization in Leh, the provincial capital at about 3500 meters […]

26 Nov 2016

Last check of the technical equipment

Even a small defective plug or adapter can make the tour very difficult, which is why I go through all possible scenarios over and over again before the tour. What if the charger for one of the various camera batteries is defective, if an adapter breaks or the solar panel no longer works? What is certain is that you won't find a solution for every possible problem, but it doesn't hurt to think about it before the tour.

19 Nov 2016

The return to the King of the Himalayas

Now the time has finally come, after several months of planning I will return to the Himalayas for many months to try again to find the rare and shy snow leopards. I have planned various routes at altitudes between 4300m and 5500m and will explore an area of around 1000 km².

20 May 2014

An audience with the King of the Himalayas

After a good six months of preparation, I traveled the Himalayas for several months to find snow leopards ...

en_GB

! This content is copyright protected !
logo

Category : Nature

30 Dez 2022

Vietnam – Jagd auf den Vooc

Zum Abschluss des Jahres war noch ein Abenteuer notwendig und es hat mich wie so oft wieder nach Vietnam verschlagen. Zum einen wollte ich meine bunten Freunde, die rotschenkligen Kleideraffen besuchen und zum anderen auch zum ersten mal auf die Jagd nach den beiden anderen dazugehörigen Arten gehen. Vietnam hat derzeit noch mit den Covid Nachwirkungen zu kämpfen, es sind noch recht wenige Touristen unterwegs was für mich natürlich immer sehr gut ist. Wie schon erwähnt gibt es Vietnam nicht […]

02 Jun 2022

Costa Rica II

Nachdem ich vor zwei Jahren den Süden von Costa Rica mit der Kamera bereist habe, stand in diesem Jahr der Norden an. Eines steht fest, es war sicher nicht mein letzter Aufenthalt in diesem Paradies für Naturfotografen. Ich habe wie schon beim letzten mal wenige, aber dafür längere Stops an vorher von mir ausgewählten Orten eingelegt. Aus meiner Sicht kann man ein Gebiet mit kurzen Stops von nur zwei oder drei Tagen nicht ausreichend nach vorhandene Arten absuchen. Die Anreisen […]

30 Okt 2021

Svalbard – Kleine Erkundung

Nach langer Pause habe ich der Inselgruppe Svalbard einen kurzen Besuch abgestattet, um zu schauen welche Möglichkeiten sich für mich in Bezug auf das fotografieren von Polarbären dort bieten. Schon die Anreise über Frankfurt – Oslo – Tromso – Longyearbyen gestaltete sich recht lustig, mal fehlte der Tankwart um das Flugzeug zu betanken, mal ein Busfahrer um die Passagiere zum Flugzeug zu bringen aber so war zu mindestens für ein wenig Abwechslung gesorgt. Auch der “eigenartige” Zwischenstop in Tromso wo […]

18 Mrz 2021

Geschützt: Die Sony A9 im „Labor“

Dies ist ein geschützter Beitrag…

15 Mrz 2021

Die Jagd nach dem fliegenden Edelstein

Er ist auch in Nordrhein-Westfalen an vielen Bächen und Flüssen zu finden, aber vor die Kamera will er selten und darum sind Fotos von ihm auch unter Naturfotografen begehrt. Auch für mich ist er ein langjähriger “Gegner” von dem ich immer mal wieder Fotos machen konnte, aber nie so richtig gute aus der Nähe. Darum habe ich mich, Corona sei Dank, in den letzten Wochen einmal ausgiebig mit ihm beschäftigt. Wie immer startet für mich das “Projekt” mit der Suche […]

17 Feb 2020

Kanada Yukon

** Update ** Covid hat es leider unmöglich gemacht den Yukon zu erkunden, das werden wir aber auf jeden Fall zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nachholen… Die Planung für 2020 ist nahezu abgeschlossen. Wir werden den Yukon erkunden und hoffentlich ein paar Bären und Katzen vor die Linse bekommen.

17 Jan 2020

Costa Rica

Ein unter Naturfotografen beliebtes Reiseziel ist Costa Rica, die einzigartige Natur bietet viele Motive und so bin auch ich zum ersten Mal dorthin aufgebrochen. Mit dem Mietwagen bin ich in den Südwesten in die Provinz Puntarenas gefahren, primär mit dem Ziel den Dschungel rund um den Corcovado Nationalpark zu erkunden. Den Park selbst habe ich bewusst ausgelassen, denn er ist ein Touristenattraktion also meist gut besucht was mir neben der Tatsache das man den Park nicht alleine ohne Guide erkunden […]

29 Nov 2019
22 Jul 2019

Berglöwen in Kanada

Eine der wenigen Katzen die mir noch in meiner Sammlung fehlt, ist der Berglöwe oder auch Puma (Puma concolor).  Die scheue Katze lässt sich ausschließlich auf dem amerikanischen Kontinent finden. Weil es nirgendwo eine derart schöne Natur und neben der Katze so viele andere sehenswerte wilde Tier gibt, habe ich eine erste Reise nach Kanada unternommen. Natürlich bin ich nicht davon ausgegangen, dass es mir gleich im ersten Anlauf gelingen würde die Katze vor die Kamera zu bekommen, vielmehr habe […]

17 Feb 2019

Auf Wiedersehen Canon

Nach 30 Jahren sage ich nun “Auf Wiedersehen” zu Canon und führe einen Systemwechsel zu Sony durch. Leider hat Canon zu spät auf die Zukunft – und die ist spiegellos – reagiert. Ich wäre wirklich gerne geblieben, aber das was Canon derzeit im spiegellosen Segment zu bieten hat, genügt meinen Ansprüchen leider nicht und ich bezweifle das sich dies in absehbarer Zeit ändern wird. Zudem ist komplett unklar was im Bereich der Supertelephoto Linsen für den RF-Mount kommen wird, kein […]

30 Dez 2018

Vietnam – Der Douc

Nach ungewöhnlich heftigen Regenfällen im November und Dezember, wurde die Region Da Nang von gewaltigen Überflutungen – die leider auch wieder Menschenleben gekostet haben – heimgesucht. Auch der Son Tra Mountain, Heimat der rotschenkligen Kleideraffen, blieb nicht verschont. Durch Erdrutsche war die einzige Zugangsstraße teilweise mit Felsbrocken versperrt und so war es ein weiteres kleines Abenteuer die wunderschönen Kleideraffen ein drittes Mal in diesem Jahr zu besuchen. Natürlich trafen wir wieder all die netten und ziemlich “verrückten” lokalen Fotografen, die […]

13 Okt 2018

Das Mekong Delta

Das Mekong Delta in Vietnam bietet besonders in der Regenzeit eine atemberaubende Kulisse. In diesem Oktober hat es erstaunlich wenig geregnet, möglicherweise steht dies auch in Zusammenhang mit dem Klimawandel. Die Regenschauer sind meist kurz und heftig und die Temperaturen gewohnt hoch. In den letzten Jahren hat man verschiedene Dämme zum Schutz der Menschen und der Felder angelegt, die das Leben der Menschen dort erleichtern sollen. Man kann die Region in etwa 6 Stunden Fahrt mit einem Bus von Ho Chi […]

15 Mai 2017
Artikel in der Siegener-Zeitung über die mehrmonatige Schneeleoparden-Tour des Naturfotografen Jörg Manderbach - Press article about sucessfull snow leopard tour at the Himalayas by German nature photographer Joerg Manderbach

Ein erster kleiner Bericht in der lokalen Presse

Am 13. Mai erschien ein erster Bericht in der “Siegener-Zeitung” über meine Schneeleoparden Tour im Himalaja.  

06 Mai 2017

Auge in Auge mit dem König des Himalaja

Es war ein großartiges Erlebnis. Nach vielen Jahren und unzähligen Versuchen ist es mir erstmals gelungen, einen wilden Schneeleoparden aus nächster Nähe zu fotografieren. Es war die längste und anstrengendste Reise die ich bisher unternommen habe, um die seltene und scheue Katze zu fotografieren. Beim Tour-Start im Dezember 2016 waren die Bedingungen vor Ort alles andere als günstig, denn Schnee war nur sporadisch vorhanden. So habe ich die einwöchige Akklimatisierung dann in Leh der auf etwa 3500 Meter Höhe gelegenen Provinzhauptstadt […]

26 Nov 2016

Letzte Überprüfung der technischen Ausrüstung

Selbst ein kleiner defekter Stecker oder Adapter kann die Tour sehr erschweren, darum spiele ich auch vor der Tour alle möglichen Szenarien immer wieder durch. Was, wenn das Ladegerät für einen der verschiedenen Kamera Akkus einen Defekt hat, wenn ein Adapter kaputt geht oder das Solar-Panel nicht mehr funktioniert ? Sicher ist, das man nicht für jedes mögliche Problem eine Lösung finden wird, aber es schadet auch nicht sich vor der Tour darüber Gedanken zu machen.

19 Nov 2016

Die Rückkehr zum König des Himalaja

Nun ist es endlich soweit, nach mehrmonatiger Planung werde ich für viele Monate in den Himalaja zurückkehren, um erneut zu versuchen die seltenen und scheuen Schneeleoparden zu finden. Ich habe verschiedene Routen in Höhenlagen zwischen 4300m und 5500m vorgeplant und werde eine Fläche von etwa 1000 km² erkunden.

20 Mai 2014

Eine Audience beim König des Himalaja

Nach gut sechsmonatiger Vorbereitung habe ich für mehrere Monate alleine den Himalaja bereist um Schneeleoparden zu fotografieren…

de_DE